Posted by: griswoldfun | May 7, 2013

Maui – day 1 & 2

Apparently I wish was a travel blogger!  Just kidding!. But we did get to spend a week in Maui in April. It was amazing!!!  And now on to the recap.
Day 1 – We traveled with another couple and were fortunate to get a direct flight to Maui. We checked into our hotel (airport Courtyard Marriott) and then headed to Costco for water and snacks (you can buy surf boards at the Costco in Maui!).  We ate dinner at an Italian restaurant called Marcos and then crashed for the night.
Day 2 – We were up early due to jet lag. But took full advantage of the early start for a breakfast at Krispy Kreme.  It wasn’t “local” but we are not ones to turn down warm Krispy Kreme! After our sugary start, we started our adventure on The Road to Hana.  I don’t know how many times I said “it’s not the destination but the journey”. Yup…I do a pretty good job reading a tour book from the back seat.
DSCN5317
DSCN5352
DSCN5340
I also don’t want to guess how many times I sang TLCs “Waterfalls”… unfortunately for the other three I don’t know all the lyrics!
DSCN5634
DSCN5510
I think my favorite part was the black sand beaches at Waianapanapa State Park. So gorgeous!!
DSCN5584
DSCN5544
DSCN5526
DSCN5617
DSCN5609
DSCN5529
But I was also fond of the shaved ice and warm banana bread.
DSCN5462
And more waterfalls!
DSCN5500
DSCN5389
There are a lot more pictures I could post but I will stop at these!
Leave a Reply

Categories

