Posted by: griswoldfun | November 22, 2010

It takes a village

More words from this weekend… Sometimes it takes a village to put up Christmas lights, or at least it does if you do it Griswold style. Many, many thanks to my Dad, my sister, and my sister’s boyfriend for all their help on Sunday in adding the finishing touches. And many thanks to my mom who stayed at home and cooked a big pot of gumbo for all of us. Gumbo, I might add, that was eaten in shorts and a t-shirt… thus proving that it’s gumbo season all year round.

So, yeah… we (Mr. G) do Christmas lights full Griswold style. Gotta admit it is fun.  Last year a neighbor stopped us and mentioned how much his two kids loved our house… one comment was all the motivation that was needed to make sure that this years is just a little different.  And this year?  We turned on the lights for 10 minutes last night to show Jamie and Jared the results of their help.  As I was standing outside talking to them a truck pulled up and the woman in the passenger seat  leaned over the driver and asked if that was my house. I told her it was… she told me it was beautiful. I gave Mr. G credit for it all and she said “I feel blessed”.  That made me laugh inside. Blessed by Christmas lights?  But it did make all the time spent this weekend worth it.  I will post pictures of the house after Thanksgiving as I am a stickler for no lights until after Thanksgiving!  If you know where we live, drive by and come see… sister told me you can see the glow of our house as soon as you turn in the neighborhood.  Yes… Griswold style 🙂

Responses

  1. Oh, I’m so jealous! I’m hoping we get ours up sometime in the next week! Can’t wait to see pics!


Leave a Reply

Categories

