Posted by: griswoldfun | December 13, 2009

The Griswold House is ready for Christmas!

Christmas Tour of Homes with The Nester 

The Nester is doing a “Christmas Tour of Homes” today. Last year the Christmas home tour provided hours of entertainment while waiting in a hospital waiting room, so this year I am gladly joining in!

Our tree – sorry, Nester, but my theme is “hodgepodge” 🙂 I have all the ornaments from my childhood in addition to newer ones I have received as gifts, a few bought on trips, and lots of shiny balls and sparkly snowflakes because I like shiny things.

Tucked under my kitchen cabinets is this advent calendar. My mom gifted it with us this year – she also gifted Mr. G with the duty of refilling it ever year. Thanks, Mom! 

And I didn’t touch the master bedroom or bathroom, but I did douse the guest bathroom with lots of glitter!

This little nativity has been with me since high school… I don’t know where it came from, but it was the perfect size for dorm rooms and tucking onto a bookshelf at my old apartment.

And the below will forever be my favorite nativity! My grandmother is a potter and a few years ago her friends were into making terra-cotta nativity scenes, so my sister and I teamed up to make one for my mom. Mom loved it and Jamie and I teamed up again to make ourselves each a terra-cotta nativity scene so we wouldn’t be tempted to steal Mom’s!

A winter wall-hanging made by Mom

And, finally, because we are the Griswold’s, it is only fitting to end with a picture of the outside of our house. Clark Griswold would be disappointed…

If you made it this far, I am glad you stopped by!  Merry Christmas!

Responses

  1. I love the apothecary jars with the bright ornaments! So cute!

  2. I love that you decorated your bathroom. I like to do that too. Beautiful home and beautifully decorated!
    Blessings,
    Debbie

  3. Darling! I especially LOVED the glass jars with baubles and trinkets.

    Merry Christmas!

  4. So pretty! Our tree has a lot of “hodgepodge” too! 🙂 Thanks for sharing! Merry Christmas!

  5. Love all the colors in your decorations. That terra cotta nativity is really special!

  6. Lovely! Thanks for sharing your beautiful home. Merry Christmas!

  7. I was visiting last year’s tour from a hospital waiting room too – much nicer doing it from a laptop in bed 🙂

    Love your home – and hey, at least your lights aren’t as blinding as Clark’s.

    Merry Christmas!
    Cate

  8. Your home is just beautiful! May many wonderful Christmas memories be made within its walls.

    Our home is having an old fashioned handmade Christmas this year. I hope you will stop by.

  9. Merry Christmas to you too! Thank you for the peek inside…and out… this year! I’m stopping by from The Nester’s home tour party. I really like the different length/sizes of ornaments in the candy jars!

    Come to my Christmas Goodies Recipe Exchange and link up Dec 15

  10. Lovely home! The outside lights look great. Merry Christmas!

  11. It all looks so festive! I love the terracotta nativity! I am stopping by from Nester’s tour. If you want to see my tour, click on the ‘Christmas 2009’ tag on the left sidebar of my blog to see my Christmas decorating posts! Merry Christmas!


Leave a Reply

Categories

