Posted by: griswoldfun | November 24, 2009

Peppernuts!

Some of my time the past few days has been devoted to making peppernuts!

Peppernuts are hard to explain to someone who has never had them… I first had them at my in-laws at Christmas and was quickly hooked on them!  There is quite a bit of German influence in Kansas and according to Wikipedia, they also have Danish and Dutch origins.  I used my MIL’s recipe to make a batch to try out on my side of the family over Thanksgiving as one of my list items!  Flour, brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, nuts, and lots of rolling and cutting… I was really wishing for my youngest SILs help as Steph makes them yearly!  I think I did okay on my own though – my test kitchen approved and ate them as fast as I was taking them out of the oven. Hopefully the rest of the family will get a chance to enjoy them, too!

Responses

  1. Now where did you hide those peppernuts…….


Leave a Reply

Categories

