Posted by: griswoldfun | May 9, 2009

Girls Night & Pulled Pork

We had a “Girls Night” last night and I made pulled pork for sandwiches…. Not very girly food, I know.  But it sounded good to me and I needed a bigger test kitchen than just Mr. G so that we wouldn’t be eating leftovers forever.  This is the recipe I found in the “Fix It and Forget It” cookbook – along with the modifications I made to it.  No complaints from the test kitchen!

2 to 3 lbs boneless pork roast, cubed (okay… stopped and talked to the nice guy at the meat counter at Kroger and he said to get “bone in” for better flavor and more moist meat)

2 onions, chopped (the same nice guy at Kroger told me to try purple onions for a better flavor, so purple onions it was)

12 oz bottle BBQ sauce (I had slightly larger…so I dumped it all in)

1/4 cup honey (didn’t measure – shocker for me)

1. Place meat in slow cooker. Add onions, BBQ sauce, and honey

2. Cover. Cook on Low 6-8 hours (Mine was in there for maybe 12 hours…)

3. Use 2 forks to shred meat

4. Serve on rolls

Here’s a picture of the big pile of meat… trust me, it was good! I took pictures of the girls, but since we played Wii and all the pictures I took were of them in goofy poses, I will be nice and not share them.

P1040309

Leave a Reply

Categories

