Posted by: griswoldfun | February 16, 2009

Word of the day!

I subscribe to Merriam-Webster’s “Word of the Day” email and just read Saturday’s this morning at work.  It was “spoony”…  Usually I don’t remember the words, but I’m going to work on using this one ’cause it’s just random enough for me!

spoony   \SPOO-nee\   adjective

     1 : silly, foolish; especially : unduly sentimental

    *2 : being sentimentally in love

 

Example sentence:

     It was Valentine’s Day and spoony couples were enjoying romantic candlelit dinners at the city’s many fine restaurants.

 

Responses

  1. I will have to remember this one to share with my SAT prep group at school!


Leave a Reply

Categories

