Posted by: griswoldfun | February 1, 2009

Confessions of a sugar addict!

That’s what this blog really should have been called. I like sugar (chocolate) and I know I need to not like sugar (so much). I am working really hard on cutting extra sugar out (much easier now that Christmas is over!). BUT, oh yes, there is always a “BUT”, it’s one of my co-worker’s birthday tomorrow and I am taking advantage of that to make a batch of chocolate chip cookies… and I’m even using dark chocolate chips! Remember the email floating around about the Neiman-Marcus Chocolate Chip cookie recipe? A lady at my church uses it and passed it along to me as part of a wedding gift (it came with cookie sheets and measuring cups and a cookie dough scooper!). It is so easy that even I don’t mess it up!
Neiman-Marcus Chocolate Chip Cookies

1/2 Cup margarine, softened

1 Cup brown sugar

3 tbsp granulated sugar

1 egg

2 tbsp vanilla

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 3/4 Cup flour (scant)

1 Cup chocolate chips

In a large bowl, combine butter and sugars. With electric mixer beat till light and fluffy. Beat in egg and vanilla.  Combine dry ingredients and add to creamed mixture, stirring until just incorporated – recommended to add half the dry ingredients, mix, and then add the remaining ingredients with the chocolate chips and stir until just mixed.  Bake at 375 for 8-10 minutes for soft cookies or 10-12 minutes for crisp cookies.

Leave a Reply

Categories

